Dezeen Magazine

Nat Barker

Nat Barker named best writer at BSME Talent Awards

Dezeen features editor Nat Barker has been named best writer in the specialist category for his "attention-grabbing yet intelligent" articles at this year's BSME Talent Awards.

Barker was recognised for his writing over the past year including his work on Dezeen's AItopia and Designing for Disaster series.

"This winner covered new ground on well-trodden topics, displaying thoroughness, versatility and style," said the judges.

"Their writing was well balanced: attention-grabbing yet intelligent and authoritative yet accessible, resulting in a lively, fresh read on every subject."

Nat Barker
Above: Nat Barker was named best specialist writer at the BSME Talent Awards. He was handed the award by presenter Sian Eleri and 2024 BSME chair Gideon Spanier

Alongside Barker, Dezeen was shortlisted for a further three BSME Talent Awards with Dezeen's deputy editor Cajsa Carlson shortlisted for best deputy editor, Dezeen's creative studio Dezeen Studio shortlisted for best video team and our newsletter Dezeen in Depth shortlisted for best newsletter.

Dezeen has been shortlisted for numerous awards so far in 2024. As well as the BSME Talent Awards nominations, Dezeen has been recognised at the Conference and Event Awards, PPA Awards and AOP Digital Awards.

The Dezeen Awards team is shortlisted in two categories, including event of the year, at both the Conference and Event Awards and the PPA Awards.

At the AOP Digital Awards, Dezeen's head of sales and business development Margot Stokes has been shortlisted in the salesperson of the year category, while Dezeen's Events Guide manager Grace Nikobari is shortlisted in the Rising Star category.

Barker's win follows a successful 2023 when Dezeen's co-CEOs Benedict Hobson and Wai Shin Li were named leaders of the year for media and the digital industries at The Drum Awards 2023. Also in 2023 Dezeen's editorial team was named Team of the Year at the PPA's annual awards while our editor Tom Ravenscroft was named Editor of the Year at the Association of Online Publishers' annual awards ceremony.